🚨JUST IN : Welsh Clubs Taste Both Joy and Pain in Promotion Playoffs: Cheers from Cardiff Offset Disapointment for Swansea


The play-offs have been a staple of the English football season since 1987, with the winners of each division’s play-off competition determined in a one-off final since 1990.

Welsh clubs Cardiff City, Swansea City, Newport County, and Wrexham have experienced both triumph and heartbreak in the competition over the years. Here, we revisit some of the most memorable moments for these four Welsh clubs in the play-offs.

Swansea City’s 2011 Championship play-off final victory over Reading is a standout moment, as they became the first Welsh team to reach the Premier League.

Scott Sinclair’s hat-trick sealed a 4-2 win and capped off an incredible rise for the Swans, who had gone from the Fourth Division to the top flight in just seven seasons.

Cardiff City also tasted play-off success in 2003, beating Queens Park Rangers 1-0 in the final thanks to Andy Campbell’s extra-time winner.

This secured promotion to the old First Division and marked the beginning of a 20-season stint in the top two tiers of English football for the Bluebirds.

Newport County have also enjoyed play-off success, defeating Wrexham 2-0 in the 2013 Conference play-off final to return to the Football League after a 25-year absence. Christian Jolley and Aaron O’Connor scored the crucial goals at Wembley.

However, there have also been moments of heartbreak for these Welsh clubs. Cardiff City suffered a devastating defeat to Blackpool in the 2010 Championship play-off final, losing 3-2 despite leading twice.

Swansea City also experienced play-off disappointment in 2021, losing 2-0 to Brentford in the Championship play-off final.

Newport County have suffered two recent play-off final defeats, losing to Tranmere Rovers in 2019 and Morecambe in 2021. Wrexham, meanwhile, have endured four successive play-off failures and had to wait until the 2022-23 season to secure promotion back to the English Football League.

The play-offs have a rich history in Wales, with the country hosting the competition finals from 2001 to 2006. Welsh players have also made their mark on the play-offs, with notable examples including Paul Bodin, Lee Nogan, Ian Hughes, Iwan Roberts, and Nathan Blake.

As the play-offs continue to provide thrilling drama and unexpected twists, Welsh clubs and players will undoubtedly play a significant role in shaping the competition’s future history.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *